Press release: FORS sponsor best practice award

Press release: FORS sponsor best practice award

CILT Logo Boxed 4C P872-WhtFORS, the Fleet Operator Recognition Scheme, is sponsoring an award to shine a light on operator successes in best practice, at the annual Chartered Institute of Logistics & Transport (CILT) Excellence Awards.

FORS will sponsor the Freight Transport Best Practice category, one of the 15 awards to be presented at the annual 2017 CILT Excellence Awards, this year hosted at the Lancaster London Hotel on Thursday 19 October.

The CILT is one of the three organisations that make up the FORS Community Partnership, and its annual award ceremony seeks to champion the very best in the industry, and encourage the highest standards and approach to logistics, transport and operations.

The Freight Transport Best Practice award will be presented by FORS Concession Director John Hix, with Eurotunnel Freight, VTG Rail, and McGee, a FORS Gold member, all nominated.

Several other FORS members have also been nominated across other award categories; FORS Bronze member Bibby Distribution for the Environmental Improvement award, Silver member Network Rail nominated for the Passenger Transport Best Practice award, and Bronze member Kuehne and Nagel, shortlisted in both the Operations Excellence and Supply Chain Innovation categories.

FORS Bronze member Wincanton is nominated for the Safety Award, alongside Gold members O’Donovan Waste Disposal and Travis Perkins.   This is the first of two nominations for Travis Perkins, who is also shortlisted in the Warehouse Operations category, up against FORS Bronze member BT Supply Chain.

Other categories to be presented on the night, are Development of People, Transport Policy and Planning, Journalist of the Year, Student of the Year, Vulnerable Road Users Safety, Young Manager of the Year, and Information Management.

The ceremony will be hosted by Journalist and Broadcaster Michael Portillo. Kevin Richardson, Chief Executive, CILT, said: “Our Awards recognise those individuals and businesses who demonstrate a significant contribution to the development of our profession and sector.”

John Hix, FORS Concession Director said, “The CILT awards really shine a light on those striving for excellence in our industry and it is great to see so many FORS members recognised for their hard work.  The best of luck to all nominees.”