Governance and Standards Advisory Group

The Governance and Standards Advisory Group (GSAG) is made up of key operators, specifiers and stakeholders who ensure that the FORS Standard is progressive and remains relevant.

GSAG is a group established by the FORS Community Partnership to:

  • monitor operational compliance with the FORS Standard and terms and conditions
  • be a credible and technically competent body able to set and administer the requirements of the FORS Standard
  • ensure that FORS Standards are subject to continuous improvement, remain relevant to industry’s needs and compatible with all relevant legislation
  • recommend changes, improvements and additions to the scheme as appropriate
  • oversee the quality management standards to ensure the integrity of the scheme and brand
  • champion the development and growth of the scheme
Appointments and composition

The GSAG has standing members from AECOM, the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (CILT), Fleet Source and Transport for London.

Additional appointees are sought from a range of businesses and other interested parties to provide a broad spectrum of expertise and knowledge. These include FORS members, champions, industry bodies and regulators. All group members are expected to provide positive contributions in support of FORS, the FORS Standard and the growth of the scheme.

In addition to appointed members GSAG may invite individuals with required experience or expertise to attend and / or advise the group.

Term of office

Each representative is invited to serve an initial term of office of two years extendable by an additional year. Appointments can be renewed by the FCP at their discretion, for any length of time up to the end of the concession. Should any individual stand down for any reason additional invitations may be issued by the FCP in order to maintain numbers.

Working Groups

The GSAG may commission and enable working groups to progress and / or complete specific projects and programmes as appropriate.

Chairman and secretariat

The FCP board is responsible for nominating the chairman of GSAG. The secretariat function for the board is fulfilled by the CILT.

Members of GSAG

The chairman of the GSAG is Steve Agg.

FORS is immensely fortunate to have the involvement of operators and supporters drawn from the FORS membership, local and statutory authorities and representative groups.

City of LondonCity of London
Vince Dignam

Confederation of Passenger
Transport UK (CPT)
John Taylor

Martin Byrce
DfT Id templates
Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA)
Gordon MacDonald/Dave Wood
Basic RGBHighways England
Fidelma Byrne


High Speed Two
(HS2) Ltd
Neil Cox

Institute of Couriers
Carl Lomas


McFarlane Telfer
Chris Craggs



Mineral Products
Association (MPA)
Jerry McLaughlin

North East Combined Authority
North East Combined Authority
John Bourn

O'Donovan logo

O’Donovan Waste
Disposal Ltd
Jacqui O’Donovan

Julie Madoui
The Society of Operations Engineers TfGMTransport for Greater Manchester
Richard Banks
Garry Lewis
Andy Wilson
Transport for London
Peter Binham
logo tp
Travis Perkins
Ron Searle


Nigel Barretto